Who we are

Our Mission 

The University of Nebraska at Kearney is a public, residential university committed to be one of the nation’s premier undergraduate institutions with excellent graduate education, scholarship, and public service.

Our Vision 

The University of Nebraska at Kearney will achieve national distinction for a high quality, multidimensional learning environment, engagement with community and public interests, and preparation of students to lead responsible and productive lives in a democratic, multicultural society.

Key to such improvement will be: clear focus on mission imperatives, fidelity to historic core values, and continuous and rigorous self-appraisal or assessment of outcomes.

interim chancellor bicak

Charles Bicak

Interim Chancellor: University of Nebraska at Kearney

bicakc@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8208

Charlie Bicak most recently served as senior vice chancellor for academic and student affairs from 2009 to 2022, and became bet36365体育 interim chancellor on June 1, 2024. A Kearney Catholic High School graduate, Bicak has deep ties to Kearney and bet36365体育. His late father, Laddie, was a longtime faculty member at bet36365体育. After working summers on the campus grounds crew, Bicak enrolled at Kearney State College in 1970, and played football for the Lopers for two years before earning his bachelor’s degree in biology education in 1974. [Full Bio] >>

Administrative Staff

Vice Chancellors

Julie Shaffer

Julie Shaffer

Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

shafferjj@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8209

Jon Watts

Jon Watts

Vice Chancellor for Business and Finance

wattsjc@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8205

Kelly Bartling

Kelly Bartling

Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management and Marketing

bartlingkh@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8455

Other Chancellor's Leadership / Cabinet

John Falconer

John Falconer

Senior Advisor to the Chancellor

falconerj@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8715

Lucas Dart

Lucas Dart

NU Foundation and Alumni

lucas.dart@nufoundation.org
(308) 698-5270

George Holman

George Holman

Associate Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs

holmangp@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8519

Administrative Council

Tim Jares

Tim Jares

Dean of the College of Business and Technology

jareste@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-1547

Mark Reid

Mark Reid

Dean of the College of Education

reidm@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8265

Paul Twigg

Paul Twigg

Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences

twiggp@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8315

Evan Boyd

Evan Boyd

Dean Library

boyde@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8546

Mark Ellis

Mark Ellis

Dean of Graduate Studies

ellismr@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8767

Maha Younes

Maha Younes

Chief Diversity Officer

younesm@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8741

Marc Bauer

Marc Bauer

Director of Athletics

bauermd@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8514

Douglas Biggs

Douglas Biggs

Interim Assistant Vice Chancellor and Director International Education

biggsdl@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8509

Andrea Childress

Andrea Childress

Assistant Vice President, Chief Information Officer, Information Technology

achildress@nebraska.edu
(308) 865-8789

Jane Sheldon

Jane Sheldon

Associate Vice Chancellor Business and Finance

sheldonj@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8427

Nita Unruh

Nita Unruh

Associate Vice Chancellor Academic and Student Affairs

unruhnc@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8335

Todd Gottula

Todd Gottula

Sr. Director of Communications and Marketing

gottulatm@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8454

Lisa Neal

Lisa Neal

University Registrar

neall@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8527

Alex Straatmann

Alex Straatmann

Chief Compliance Officer

straatmanna2@standingashtray.com
(308) 865-8400